Mississauga Canoe Club 60thAnniversary and Hall of Fame

By Doug Tutty


On June 9, 2018, the Mississauga Canoe Club celebrated their 60thanniversary at the Annual Home Regatta on the Credit River in Port Credit, Ontario. The MCC has a rich history of canoe and kayak racing in Canada beginning in 1958, when the club was founded by Bert Oldershaw. Over the past 60 years, the MCC has won 19 overall club burgees at the National Championships, developed many paddlers who would go on to represent Canada at the Olympics, and has provided paddlers of all ages in the community of Mississauga a place to call home.


#Repost @balmybeachcanoeclub・・・Shout out to @mississaugacanoeclub for their 60th anniversary! #tbt to 35 years ago to…

Posted by Mississauga Canoe Club on Thursday, June 7, 2018


On the occasion of the the 60thAnniversary, the MCC also unveiled their Hall of Fame Wall and formally announced the induction of the following Hall of Fame members:

Bert Oldershaw, Bill Collins, Marjorie Homer Dixon, John Wood, Mac Hickox, Dean Oldershaw, Eric Smith, Attila Buday, Carrie Lightbound, and Tamas Buday Jr.


Mississauga Canoe Club Hall of Fame, 2018


Congratulations to all of the MCC Hall of Fame members. Your leadership, dedication, and pursuit of excellence is an example for all athletes and coaches to follow.

We thank you for all that you have done for the MCC and the sport of Canoe and Kayak racing in Canada.